Day One (a little late): Introducing Yourself to the World

Recently I started a month-long writing exercise with Blogging University called “Blogging 101”. The way it works is each day we get emailed a new writing objective that tells us what to do during that day. Now, it started on Monday, July 6, 2015, but humorously enough I just got back from a 3-day vacation in Santa Cruz celebrating my sister’s 16th birthday! Now that I’m back, I’d really like to start from the beginning! So, here it goes.

Who am I and why am I here? (on WordPress, that is)

Well, here’s a quick rundown.

I was born in October of 1996, which makes me an 18 year old. Born and raised in Sacramento, California I now attend college at California Baptist University in Riverside, California (I’m home for the summer!). The one thing I pursue above all else is Jesus Christ and my relationship with Him. I absolutely love my sister Michelle, any and all outdoor activities, mostly including kayaking, hiking, and swimming, art and all things creative, every baby animal imaginable, and surprisingly, school (CBU, that is). I consider myself an faux adventurist and hipster, I have two Pinterest boards full of places I want to see and a ton of decor trends that I refuse to say I will never use. I am majoring in Behavioral Sciences and minoring in Spanish, but who knows what the Lord is planning for my life.

I started blogging because of my summer job at the Union Gospel Mission, a non-profit organization that runs to serve the homeless in Sacramento. I have the privilege to be working there as a grant writer, something I am currently still learning to do! Oh, and my momma works there too! I am so blessed to be with her and all her coworkers that I have come to know and love myself.

I wanted to improve my writing skills, and blogging seemed to be an amazing way for me to be excited to write.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my content, and for now I’d really like to write about my devotionals. I am already a talkative person for those who know me, and I thought sharing my personal take on what I read in my Bible can be used to encourage others and their own walks. I never thought that this is a way the Lord could use me before, but I am excited to keep blogging, and I can’t wait for where the Lord is going to lead! (No pun intended 😉 )

Leave a Reply

