Daily Post: Seasonal Scents

Daily Post: What smells do you associate most with the current season?

Ahh, summer. Summer in California. Summer in a drought. Summer in the heat. Summer that warms up quickly and cools down slowly. That kind of summer?

I love summer smells. Some are good, some are not so good. These are some of my favorite:

  1. Sunscreen
  2. Campfires
  3. Redwoods (forests in general)
  4. Barbecues
  5. Strangely, cow pastures.
  6. Farmer’s markets

All of these smells have memories attached to them, all which I hold dearly. I’ll explain!

I swam competitively for 11 years, so I guess the familiar smell reminds me of chlorine, seas of tents, hot cement, and the instant splash of the pool after the buzzer rings to start your race. 

My family is a big camping family, getting in the dirt, surrounded by forests, oceans, mountains, and cities all at once. It was not uncommon for us to go out, play in the sand (not usually in the ocean, Nor Cal is not known for it’s warm beaches!), and then come back late at night to sit around a campfire, bundled in clothing and blankets to shield us from the chill of the night. With s’mores, always with s’mores.  

That being said, my family is big on outdoor adventures in general. We love hiking in forests and mountains, and it has honestly become one of the best-smelling things to me! Some of our favorite places are Muir Woods, Los Gatos, Stinson Beach, Yosemite, and Lake Tahoe, just in case any of you were curious. 🙂 

I think anyone who smells BBQ can understand this one. That mouth-watering, meat-craving, smokey-tasting smell… No? Just me? Aight.

Now I don’t have much to say on cow pastures… Most probably gag on the thought… And for my fellow Californiers, I-5 will undoubtedly do that do ya. But a part of me likes it! Call me disgusting- I can take it. 

And who doesn’t love a good farmers’ market? Fresh, well, everything! Veggies, fruits, flowers, herbs, jams, baked goods… I just, ugh, so good. 

Anyway, I digress. 

There are probably more during the summer specifically that I love but, I can’t, think, of, any, right now. 

Like this if you agreed with me on any of it, and comment some of you’re favorite smells for this season!

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Seasonal Scents.”

2 thoughts on “Daily Post: Seasonal Scents

Leave a Reply

