Verse of the Day: Why do YOU do good?

Matthew 6:1

“Take heed that you do not do your charitable deeds before men, to be seen by them. Otherwise you have no reward from your Father in heaven.” (NKJV)

“Watch out! Don’t do your good deeds publicly, to be admired by others, for you will lose the reward from your Father in heaven.” (NLT)

The God who is in heaven is far greater than anyone or anything, worthy of all the glory and all the praise we could ever give! So why is it that we do things to make ourselves look good? Why would I ever want to direct my and others’ attentions from anyone other than the Almighty God? 

As I was jamming in the car this morning driving to work, the next song that came on was “Carry My Soul” by Phil Wickham. No lie, I was actually in tears! Call me crazy I could care less. The reality of His amazing and perfect love for me made my heart swell up and overflow with joy and love. He gives me so much more than I could ever ask for, than I will ever deserve. I can’t imagine my life any other way.

 He reveals Himself to us when we seek Him. Thank you Lord!

Leave a Reply

