Lies Lack Sufficient Power

Saturday I posted this on my Facebook page:

“There are times when lies lack sufficient power…”
How much will it take for people to hear the Truth and be able to stand it?
Thank the Lord that He is so merciful, and so gracious- for sparing us of what we rightfully deserve and giving to us what we don’t.
You who deny that God exists have way more faith than I.

I was watching this TV show (that I absolutely love and just got into) called “Reign”, a romantic, fantasy, sort-of historical drama about the life of Queen Mary of Scots. One of the main characters quoted the above line when she needed to get out of a situation she didn’t want to be in. But how true the words ring when it comes to knowing the Lord as our Savior. 

So many will turn their backs to Christ to avoid Him. Forget how many don’t even believe in a God, we’re talking about the people to know deep down that He DOES exist, and refuse to look upon His face in fear of rejection, or worse, correction.

You might think that He’ll never accept you- that because you’ve made mistakes He won’t let you in.

WRONG!

There is a saying that “God doesn’t call the equipped, he equips the called.” That is something I have had to learn, repeatedly, my entire life. I have always tried to be someone to please the Lord. The Lord is trying to tell us that He is pleased when we rely on Him to be someone. 

He knows you struggle with choosing between right and wrong. He knows you’re not proud of some decisions you’ve made. But He is also the one who gave you the choice in the first place.

“Why would God love me if He freely gave me a choice to do the right thing and I failed? More than once!?”

I don’t know. I don’t understand His perfection. I don’t understand why He would give up everything to die for me. I literally cannot comprehend His relentless and unconditional love. 

But I do know this.

He does love me. He did die for me. And He does want me to trust Him. 

It’s hard, I get it. Surrounded by so much of the things that make you feel good, not wanting to change from the person you think you were born to be. BUT THIS IS THE TRUTH. You have no valid excuse to deny Him. 

“…where sin abounded, grace abounded much more.” Romans 5:20 

This is the time that lies DO NOT hold sufficient power. His grace? Sufficient. His Truth and love? Sufficient.

Faith is described as “confidence or trust in a person or thing or a belief not based on proof”. Usually it is used as a Christian term. “If only we had the faith of a mustard seed, we could move mountains.”

But what if I flipped the perspective?

Those of you who try to excuse the existence of a Perfect, Powerful, and Holy God- what faith you have! To deny the work of His hands, the power of His ways, the depth of His love for us. To deny that kind of evidence? That takes some crazy amount of faith. The kind of faith I wish I had to undeniably and undoubtedly live for the God who loves me. 

It is not too late. It is never too late. The truth might sting, it will make you change. But only into the person the Lord created you to be in all His glory. Amen to that!

Leave a Reply

